2017 BCWF Awards



The BCWF Awards honour individuals and member clubs for outstanding hunting, angling and conservation achievements in 2017. Awards will be presented at the BCWF's 62nd annual AGM & Convention in April 2018.

Award Submissions forthe 2018 AGM & Convention are now CLOSED.  

Art Downs Memorial Award 

The award is for writing that is factual, accurate, well researched and focused on the real issues where governments, private or public companies need to be taken to task on environmental infractions. Priority consideration for winning this award will be given to the author who has managed to bring about change with his/her writing in a significant and positive way.

Barsby Trophy Conservationist of the Year 

This trophy honours Ted Barsby of Nanaimo, who was the first president of the BC Wildlife Federation as we know it today and is the greatest honour the Federation can bestow on any individual for an outstanding contribution to conservation over many years. Candidates for the Barsby Trophy do not have to be members of the BCWF.

Bill Otway Award for Most Effective Regional President 

This award honours Bill Otway's tireless efforts over 55 years of conservation projects that had a significant impact on wildlife habitats. The award is given to the Regional President that has the most impact. 

Big Game Awards

Bert Palmer Memorial Big Game Trophy 

This award is in memory of Bert Palmer, a Vancouver building contractor with an abiding love for fish, wildlife and the environment. Bert was an early member of the Vancouver Angling and Game Association, a founding member of the Lower Mainland of BC Gun Association, President of the Lower Mainland Zone, a Director of the BC Fish and Game Council and one of the original directors of the BC Federation of Fish & Game Clubs, later to be the BC Wildlife Federation.

Wild Sheep Foundation Awards 

The Wild Sheep Foundation recognizes winners in multiple categories, including the biggest sheep, the biggest trophy other than sheep, and the youth outstanding big game award.

Youth Big Game Award 

This award is open to youth members of the BC Wildlife Federation who are 18 years of age or younger and who have taken a big game animal in BC.

Frank Shannon Junior Conservation Award 

Established in 1994, the Frank Shannon Junior Conservation Award was developed by the Ministry of Environment, Lands and Parks in cooperation with the BC Wildlife Federation. It is designed to permanently enshrine the outstanding lifetime contribution of Frank Shannon in the protection and management of fish and wildlife and their habitats. This award is presented to a youth or youth organization for participating in activities aimed at the conservation of wild organisms in natural habitats.

Lee Straight Fishing Award 

The BC Wildlife Federation's Lee Straight Fishing Award, which is sponsored by the Pfleiderer Family, is given in memory of BCWF avid fisherman, Lee Straight. This award was instituted in 2004 to give the member anglers of the Federation an equivalent to the Bert Palmer Award and is dedicated to all members "who love to fish".

Roderick Haig-Brown Conservation Award for Completed Project 

This prestigious award recognizes the accomplishments of a Club whose recently completed conservation project, benefiting fish, wildlife or habitat, is deemed most worthy.

Youth Fishing Award 

This award is is open to youth members of the Federation who are 18 years of age or younger and who have caught the fish in British Columbia.

For More Information

For more information on the 2017 BCWF Awards email  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , or contact the BCWF office at 604.882.9988 or 1.888.881.BCWF (2293)