60th Anniversary BCWF Annual General Meeting and Convention


Thank you to all the delegates, members, speakers, and guests that attended the 2016 BCWF 60th Anniversary AGM & Convention in Nanaimo, BC, April 21 to 23.

Thanks also to all the hardworking volunteers from the Nanaimo Fish & Game Protective Association lead by AGM Liaison Bob Morris - without them the event would simply not have been possible!


Check out our brand new video focusing on our members’ & stakeholders’ involvement with the BCWF to conserve and protect BC’s fish, wildlife, and habitat for present and future generations. This video features members, past presidents and community leaders such as; Rick Hansen, CEO Rick Hansen Foundation, FLNRO Minister Steve Thomson and Grand Chief Steward Phillip, President of the Union of BC Indian Chiefs. 

Here's to celebrating another 60 years of conservation leadership!




Thank you to everyone that took the time to fill out the 2016 AGM Survey - your feedback is much appreciated!


Presentations from the 2016 BCWF AGM & Convention can be downloaded in PDF form below.

Friday, April 22nd -   Plenary

BCWF Update - Al Martin, Cheryl Johnson & Jesse Zeman

BCWF Firearms Committee – Gary Mauser

Canadian Sport Shooting Association – Tony Bernardo

Estimating Cougar Populations on Vancouver Island Using DNA Mark – Recapture Technique – Jerry MacDermott, FLNRO

West Coast Elk Augmentation & Recovery Project – William Wilton, FLNRO

Wildlife Stewardship Council  - Chief John Henderson


Friday, April 22nd –   Break-Out Sessions

BCWF Recreational Sports Shooting – Sam Batson

BCWF Recreational Sports Shooting – Michael Smillie

BCWF Membership – Irene Chieng

Capri Insurance – Clayton Prince

Fish and Wildlife Compensation Program – Trevor Oussoren

Off-Road Vehicle Act Update – Vera Vukelich, FLNRO

Saturday, April 23rd -   Plenary

Canadian Wildlife Federation – Dr. David Browne

Freshwater Fisheries Society  – Adrian Clark

Pacific Salmon Foundation – Dr. Brian Riddell

Sustainable Grizzly Bear Harvest – Dr. Bruce McLellan, FLNRO

Update on Provincial Moose Research Project in Central B.C. - Gerry Kuzyk


Saturday, April 23rd –   Break-Out Session

Grizzly Bear Hunting with Hounds – Dr. Bruce McLellan, FLNRO

Preparing for the New BC Societies Act – Luke Johnson

Restoration & Enhancement: From Idea to Successful Outcome– Lisa Tedesco, FLNRO

Sport Fishing and Catch Monitoring – Owen Bird

Wildlife Health in BC: Threats and Needs – Dr. Helen Schwantje, FLNRO


The Disposition of Resolutions passed at the 2016 BCWF AGM & Convention is now available for download:

2016 BCWF Disposition of Resolutions


The 2016 BCWF AGM & Convention saw several new faces elected to the Board of Directors. Congratulations and a warm welcome to Brian Hancock of Greenwood, BC, and Trevor Carruthers of Cranbrook, BC, who were both elected to two-year terms.

Elected Directors - Executive

President – Jim Glaicar – Prince George
Vice President – Brenton Froehlich –Peachland
Vice President – Harvey Andrusak – Nelson
Treasurer – John Shepherd – Courtenay
Past President – George Wilson – Cranbrook

Elected Directors (2 year terms)

Jared Wilkison – Kelowna
John Thornton – Victoria 
Mark Hall – Jaffray
Mike Langegger – Kitimat

Elected Directors (1 year terms)

Carl Gitscheff – Dawson Creek
Victor Skaarup – Victoria 

Regional Presidents (Appointed)

Region 1 (Vancouver Island) – Dennis Popplestone
Region 2 (Lower Mainland) – Phillip Milligan
Region 3 (Thomson/Nicola) – Gordon Bacon
Region 4W (West Kootenay) – Gord Grunerud
Region 4E (East Kootenay) – Jeff Berdusco
Region 5 (Cariboo) – Terry Street
Region 6 (Skeena) – Mike O’Neill
Region 7A (Omineca) – Jim Glaicar
Region 7B (Peace) – Gerry Paille
Region 8 (Okanagan) – Brenton Froehlich


The 2015 BCWF Conservation Awards were presented to the winners on Saturday, April 23rd at the Annual Dinner and Awards Gala - congratulations to all of this year's winners!

Lee Straight Fishing Award
Terri O’Neill - Chinook Salmon, 38 lbs & 4oz.

Youth Fishing Award

No Submission

Roderick Haig-Brown Memorial Conservation Award (completed conservation project, benefiting either fish or wildlife)
Completed Project 1st – Kamloops & District Fish & Game Protection “Tranquille River Project”

Completed Project 2nd – Summerland Sportsmen’s Association “Ritchie Lake Wetland Restoration”

Completed Project 3rd – No Submission

Barsby Trophy (Conservationist of the Year)

No Award this Year

Bert Palmer Big Game Trophy

No Submission

Wild Sheep Foundation Buckles

Biggest Sheep Taken in B.C. – Shawn Henderson, California Big Horn – 156 7/8 B&C

Biggest Trophy other than Sheep taken in B.C. – No Submission

Youth Outstanding Big Game - Kevin Judson – Moose -155 2/8 B & C

Art Downs Memorial Award
Claire Hume for her 5 part series of articles on Trophy Hunting in BC.

Bill Otway “Most Effective Regional President” Award
Gord Grunerud, Region 4W, Kootenay East

President’s Award for “Volunteer Contribution”
Jim Helsdon, Chair, BCWF Wilderness Watch Committee

Quota Buster Award

Club Under 300 Members – Osoyoos Wildlife Federation

Club Over 300 Members – Courtenay & District Fish & Game Protective Association

Artist of the Year

Valeri Rogers for her painting “Busted”


The minutes from the 2015 BCWF AGM & Convention, which took place April 23rd – 25th, 2015, in Fernie, BC, are now available for download at the following link:

2015 BCWF AGM & Convention Minutes